Skip to content
DialPhone

1:1 comparison · Verified August 27, 2026

DialPhone vs Intercom

Compare DialPhone AI Pro vs Intercom on AI, CCaaS, pricing, channels, and HIPAA compliance. Which platform wins for voice-first vs chat-first teams in 2026.

By DialPhone Content Team · Last verified August 27, 2026

Best fit when

DialPhone AI Pro

  • Your team handles significant inbound call volume and needs a full cloud phone system
  • You need HIPAA-compliant voice, SMS, and fax in one platform
  • You want a unified UCaaS + CCaaS stack with published pricing at every tier
  • You need an AI Receptionist that handles inbound calls, books appointments, and sends SMS
I

Pick if

Intercom

  • Your support is entirely chat, email, and in-app messaging with no significant phone volume
  • You run a SaaS or ecommerce product and Intercom's in-product Messenger is central to your onboarding and retention workflow
  • You want Fin AI Agent priced per resolved outcome at $0.99 rather than per seat
  • You want Intercom's published per-seat pricing at $29, $85 and $132 with a free trial on every tier

Key facts, DialPhone vs Intercom

As of August 27, 2026, DialPhone AI Pro starts at $24/user/month (Core), $34/user/month (Advanced, HIPAA BAA included at no surcharge), and $54/user/month (Ultra), with published contact-center tiers from $65/user/month.

All DialPhone plans include AI transcription, business SMS, video meetings, and free number porting on a 99.999% monthly uptime target with service credits, serving 100+ businesses and 5,000+ users across the US and Canada. Intercom pricing and feature figures are verified in the comparison matrix below and re-checked every 90 days.

Quick verdict

Choose DialPhone if you

  • Your team handles significant inbound call volume and needs a full cloud phone system
  • You need HIPAA-compliant voice, SMS, and fax in one platform
  • You want a unified UCaaS + CCaaS stack with published pricing at every tier
  • You need an AI Receptionist that handles inbound calls, books appointments, and sends SMS
  • You require Microsoft Teams Direct Routing for PSTN calling

Choose Intercom if you

  • Your support is entirely chat, email, and in-app messaging with no significant phone volume
  • You run a SaaS or ecommerce product and Intercom's in-product Messenger is central to your onboarding and retention workflow
  • You want Fin AI Agent priced per resolved outcome at $0.99 rather than per seat
  • You want Intercom's published per-seat pricing at $29, $85 and $132 with a free trial on every tier
  • You need Intercom's public help centre, workflow automation builder and in-app product tours, none of which DialPhone offers

Intercom and DialPhone are both AI-forward customer communications platforms, but they start from opposite ends of the channel stack. Intercom is a digital-first platform built around in-product chat, email, and Fin AI’s ability to deflect support tickets before a human sees them. DialPhone is a phone-first platform built around voice, SMS, and a full CCaaS stack, with AI layered across every call and contact-center workflow.

The decision is simpler than it looks: if your support and sales volume is primarily phone calls, DialPhone is the right foundation. If your business is a SaaS or ecommerce product where in-app chat and email drive most customer touchpoints, Intercom is stronger. Many enterprises run both.

Every Intercom figure below is taken from Intercom’s own pricing page and checked on 27 August 2026. Intercom charges a per-seat fee plus $0.99 per Fin outcome, so the seat price alone is not the bill.

Side-by-side comparison

CapabilityDialPhone AI ProIntercom
CategoryBusiness phone system (UCaaS) + contact centreCustomer-service and digital messaging platform
Category noteNot a like-for-like comparison: Intercom is digital-first messaging, DialPhone is voice-first telephony. Compare only the overlapping AI-agent and omnichannel service capabilities.
Pricing modelPer user, per monthPer seat, per month, plus $0.99 per Fin outcome
Starting price$24/user/mo (Core, annual)$29/seat/mo (Essential); $19/seat/mo on the current new-customer offer
Mid tier$34/user/mo (Advanced)$85/seat/mo (Advanced), includes 20 free Lite seats
Top published tier$54/user/mo (Ultra)$132/seat/mo (Expert)
AI agent pricingAI transcription and summaries in plan; AI Receptionist $59/mo add-onFin AI Agent included on every plan, billed $0.99 per resolved outcome
Voice / phone system✓ Full cloud PBXBasic inbound calls only
Business SMS✓ All plansLimited (not core product)
Video meetings✓ Up to 200 participantsNot available
Online fax✓Not available
In-product Messenger (in-app chat)Not available✓ Core product
Email ticketingVia CCaaS channels✓ Core product
AI Receptionist (voice)✓ Smart Virtual ConciergeNot available
Fin AI Agent (digital)Not availableIncluded on every published plan
Omnichannel CCaaS✓ 20+ channelsChat/email/social (digital only)
HIPAA BAABAA offered on Advanced and higher (HIPAA) — a contract, not a certificationAvailable on qualifying plans
Microsoft Teams integrationDirect Routing; Operator Connect status not publicly confirmedNot available
Salesforce native integration✓✓
HubSpot integration✓✓
Published uptime commitment99.999% monthly uptime target with service credits (Terms §6)Not stated on the public pricing page; ask Intercom for current terms
Contact center WFM✓Not available

Pricing comparison

DialPhone prices per user per month (annual billing):

  • Core: $24/user/mo
  • Advanced: $34/user/mo (HIPAA BAA included)
  • Ultra: $54/user/mo
  • Contact Center Professional: $95/agent/mo

Intercom prices per seat per month, plus usage (published on intercom.com/pricing):

  • Essential: $29/seat/mo, or $19/seat/mo on the current 35 percent new-customer offer
  • Advanced: $85/seat/mo, includes 20 free Lite seats
  • Expert: $132/seat/mo
  • Fin AI Agent: $0.99 per Fin outcome, on every plan
  • Optional add-ons published at $99 and $29 per month

10 seats, illustrative only

  • DialPhone Contact Center Professional: 10 × $95 × 12 = $114,000 over 10 years, or $11,400/year
  • Intercom Expert: 10 × $132 × 12 = $15,840/year in seat fees, plus $0.99 for every Fin outcome

The Intercom side is deliberately left open. At 2,000 Fin outcomes a month the usage component alone is $23,760 a year; at 200 a month it is $2,376. Intercom’s model gets cheaper than a flat per-agent model when volume is low and more expensive when it is high, and the crossover sits in your own ticket data, not in a comparison table. These are list-price subtotals only and exclude taxes and add-ons.

AI capabilities

AI Receptionist (voice)

DialPhone’s Smart Virtual Concierge answers inbound calls, identifies intent, routes to the right team or agent, books appointments in Salesforce and Calendly, and sends follow-up SMS, available in English, Spanish, and French. HIPAA BAA eligible for healthcare intake flows.

Intercom has no equivalent voice AI product. Its strength is Fin AI for digital tickets.

Fin AI Agent (digital)

Intercom’s Fin AI Agent resolves chat, email and in-app questions before they reach a human agent, and Intercom includes it on every published plan while billing $0.99 per resolved outcome. Intercom publishes no independently audited deflection rate, so treat any percentage you are quoted, by Intercom or by us, as a marketing figure until you have measured it on your own tickets.

DialPhone has AI-powered chat and digital channels in its contact-center product. For chat-first support teams, Intercom is the more developed product on this specific job.

Conversation intelligence

DialPhone provides AI call transcription, sentiment scoring, AI meeting summaries, and 100 percent interaction analytics across voice and contact-center interactions.

Intercom provides AI-powered conversation summaries and next-step suggestions within its inbox. Its conversation intelligence focuses on written digital interactions.

Channels

DialPhone: voice, business SMS, video meetings (200 participants), online fax, team chat, 20+ digital CCaaS channels (WhatsApp, Facebook Messenger, Instagram, web chat, email, Apple Messages for Business, X, SMS)

Intercom: in-product Messenger (chat), email, social, WhatsApp integration, and a public help centre. Intercom is built for digital channels; it is not a PSTN telephony product and does not replace a phone system.

Compliance

RequirementDialPhoneIntercom
HIPAA BAABAA offered on Advanced and higher (HIPAA) — a contract, not a certificationAvailable on qualifying plans
SOC 2Contact DialPhone for current status, scope and documentation (SOC 2)Request the current report and scope from Intercom
GDPRDPA and EU data residency (GDPR) — not a certificationRequest the current DPA from Intercom
PCI DSSContact DialPhone for current status, scope and documentation (PCI)Not publicly confirmed
Published uptime commitment99.999% monthly uptime target with service credits (Terms §6)Not stated on the public pricing page

Neither column above should be read as a certification. Ask each vendor for the actual artifact: the SOC 2 report and its type and service scope, the PCI DSS attestation and its assessed scope, and the signed BAA or DPA. For voice-heavy regulated workflows, DialPhone covers channels Intercom does not; that is a channel-coverage difference, not a compliance verdict.

Who should pick which

Pick DialPhone if your team handles meaningful phone volume, inbound calls, outbound sales, appointment booking, or a contact center with voice as a primary channel. Also pick DialPhone if you need unified UCaaS (phone + SMS + video + fax) with a single admin portal and published pricing.

Pick Intercom if your product is SaaS or ecommerce and your support team lives in a chat inbox, you want Fin included on every tier at $0.99 per resolved outcome, or you need the workflow automation builder, public help centre and in-app product tours that DialPhone does not offer.

Where DialPhone is weaker: it has no in-product Messenger, no help centre, no product tours, and no digital ticket-deflection agent. It was founded in 2024, and its AI receptionist is a paid add-on rather than part of a plan.

Where Intercom is weaker: it is not a phone system. There is no PSTN calling, no business SMS, no fax, no video meetings and no workforce management, and the $0.99 per-outcome charge makes the monthly bill move with ticket volume.

Run both if your business has a digital-first support layer (Intercom) and a separate voice and contact-center layer (DialPhone). Many mid-market companies integrate both via Salesforce or HubSpot.

See also

Disclosure and methodology

This comparison is produced by DialPhone, an interested vendor. Information is based on publicly available vendor materials as of August 27, 2026. Features, pricing and terms can change; confirm purchasing details directly with each provider. Competitor pricing is taken from each vendor's own published pricing page; where a figure is not published we say so rather than estimating it.

Sources

  • Intercom pricing — Intercom. Supports: Essential, Advanced and Expert plan names, per-seat pricing, Fin AI outcome pricing, 20 free Lite seats on Advanced, add-on pricing, new-customer discount. Checked 2026-08-27.
  • DialPhone pricing — DialPhone. Supports: DialPhone plan pricing, Contact Center tier pricing, AI Receptionist add-on pricing. Checked 2026-08-27.
  • DialPhone Terms of Service — DialPhone. Supports: 99.999% monthly uptime target, service credits. Checked 2026-08-27.

DialPhone vs Intercom FAQ

Is Intercom a phone system?

Intercom is primarily a customer messaging platform, live chat, email, in-app messaging, and its Fin AI agent for digital ticket deflection. It has a basic inbound calls feature, but voice is not its core product. If phone call volume is significant for your business, DialPhone is purpose-built for that use case. Intercom is optimised for digital-channel support teams at SaaS and ecommerce companies.

How does Intercom pricing compare to DialPhone?

Both price per seat, but Intercom adds usage on top. Intercom publishes Essential at $29 per seat per month, Advanced at $85 and Expert at $132, each including the Fin AI Agent and each charging $0.99 per Fin outcome on top of the seat fee. A new-customer offer of 35 percent off Essential brings it to $19 per seat. DialPhone publishes Core at $24, Advanced at $34 and Ultra at $54 per user per month on annual billing, with Contact Center from $65 per agent. Which is cheaper depends entirely on your Fin outcome volume, because that part of Intercom's bill is variable and DialPhone's is not.

Can Intercom handle HIPAA-regulated conversations?

Intercom's HIPAA support is not stated on its public pricing page, so confirm current terms and qualifying plans with Intercom directly rather than relying on a comparison page. DialPhone offers a HIPAA Business Associate Agreement on Advanced and higher, covering voice, SMS, fax and AI Receptionist interactions. A BAA is a contract, not a certification; ask both vendors what is in scope. For patient intake that arrives by phone or fax, DialPhone covers the channel and Intercom does not.

Which is better for AI customer service?

They target different channels, so the answer follows your traffic. Intercom's Fin AI Agent resolves chat, email and in-app questions and is included on every published Intercom plan, billed at $0.99 per resolved outcome. DialPhone's Smart Virtual Concierge answers inbound calls, identifies intent, books appointments and routes to agents, and is a $59 per month add-on rather than part of a plan. Neither vendor publishes independently audited resolution-accuracy data, so pilot on your own traffic. Teams with both digital and voice volume often run both products.

Does DialPhone replace Intercom?

For most teams, no, DialPhone replaces your phone system and contact center; Intercom replaces your live chat and in-product messaging layer. They solve different primary problems. If your business is phone-heavy (inbound calls, appointment booking, outbound sales), DialPhone is the core platform. If your business is digital-first with in-app chat as the primary support channel, Intercom is more natural. Some teams run both.

More comparisons

View all on the compare hub.

Still evaluating?
Try DialPhone free.

14-day trial, no credit card. Port your numbers from Intercom for free.

Call sales Start free trial